The Blue Note & Rose Blog

The Man of the Year: Schoolboy Q show preview

Leave a comment

Who: Schoolboy Q
When: Mon., April 21
Where: The Blue Note 
Tickets: $25-100
Openers: Isaiah Rashad, Vince Staples

First thing that comes to mind when I think of Schoolboy Q, is how can I have my titties, ass, and hands in the air all at once?

This is what comes to mind…

Q2

Not sure if Mr. Q intended for these deliberations of mine, but lets get real with his music for a moment. I saw Schoolboy Q over spring break at a music festival in New Orleans called Buku, and, man, oh man. I’ll just say I was not an extreme level of sobriety during his set, but I the one memory that sticks to me was I didn’t stop moving. The entire time. People were throwing one another around, bouncing and jumping off each other, doing the swag head nod profusely, it was just one hell of a time.

Q

 

I’m especially anxious to catch him for round 2 at The Blue Note on Monday April 21st. I salute you, fellow booking agent and music manager, for the strategic gig placement the day after Easter and day after 4/20. If his performance is like anything I saw, it would be one you won’t want to miss. Anticipating it to be even more intimate and way better in a closed venue setting.

Leave a comment