The Blue Note & Rose Blog

The Hooten Hallers Blues Explosion: Show Preview

Leave a comment

Where: Mojo’s
When: April 19, doors at 8 p.m., show at 9 p.m.
Ticket cost: $7
Openers: Joe Price, Resonant Rogues

The Hooten Hallers sound like Captain Beefheart, Howlin’ Wolf and The Black Keys had a bastard three-way love child and set the strange, growly voiced, licks-lovin’ creature loose to roam the back alleys of Columbia. Mo.

And that grotesque beast is damn fun to listen to—at a Mojo’s near you this Saturday night!

He's really snapping, but if you pause it just right... Yep, I'm still immature in my mid-20s.

He’s really snapping, but if you pause it just right… Yep, I’m still immature in my mid-20s.

This past summer, during my ill-fated days as a Vox Magazine music editor, I had the opportunity to meet the guys when they came into the office to do a few acoustic jams for Vox Sessions.

A couple super nice dudes that know how to blues rock. Out of all the jams they kicked that evening, this Johnny Paycheck cover was my personal favorite. (And in all honesty, I listen to their version whenever I want to hear “Old Violin”).

The Hooten Hallers are one of Columbia’s very best local bands, so come out and support them hometown boys.

This post was written by Tyler McConnell, contributing writer for The Blue Note.

Author: tylermcconnell

“A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do.” ―Bob Dylan

Leave a comment