The Blue Note & Rose Blog

Must see: Steve Moakler

Leave a comment

When: Friday, April 21. Doors at 8 p.m., show at 9 p.m.
Where: Rose Music Hall
Tickets: $10
Openers: Drew Baldridge + Smithfield

There’s a good chance that you’ve heard of country singer-songwriter Steve Moakler. He’s headlining SiriusXM’s The Highway Finds tour, which is how I discovered him — on the radio’s segment Highway Finds. Before the station spun his single “Suitcase,” the DJ gave a backstory on how Moakler had pinned a few hits for other established country artists, including Dierks Bentley’s “Riser.” I’m happy to report that Moakler’s sound does not fall into the dark realm of “bro-country.” Moakler isn’t into the music business for awards, money or fame, which is one reason why so many people dig him. He’s just here because he loves making music. Plus, I’m a sucker for great songwriters, so I was instantly intrigued.

 

The first time I saw Steve Moakler live, I also met him

Moakler opened in May for Billy Currington and Kelsea Ballerini at The Blue Note’s 9th Street Summerfest. It was my first day as an intern at The Blue Note and I had somehow ended up directing traffic during soundcheck. A stranger walked up to me and we started talking about the excitement of the day. He walked away and then to the stage to soundcheck “Love drunk” and I realized that I had just met one of Nashville’s finest! The show was a success and now I can’t wait to see him headline at Rose Music Hall.

I’ll be mentally preparing for the show by listening to his new album, Steel Town

Another reason to be excited for the show is the up-and-coming artists who will be kicking it off. The Highway handpicked Drew Baldridge and Smithfield to start the night right. I also picked a few tunes to get you familiar with the artists and their music before the show.

My picks:
Drew Baldridge’s “Dance With Ya”

Smithfield’s “If I Were You”

Now that you have some listening homework, all you need is your ticket. It’ll only cost you $10 to experience all three country acts in the wonderful atmosphere that we know and love as Rose Music Hall. Don’t forget to come early for Happy Hour in the park and enjoy even more live music before the show, $3 Logboat cans and tasty grub from Pepe’s Tacos. See you Friday!

Author: RebekahNorthern

Nerd @Mizzou 🐯 || Intern @The_Blue_Note 🎶 || Twitter @RebekahNorthern

Leave a Reply

