The Blue Note & Rose Blog

Live tonight! St. Lucia

Leave a comment

Where: The Blue Note

When: Monday, Oct. 17. Doors at 7:30 p.m., show at 8:30 p.m.

Ticket Cost: $20 General Admission

Opener: Baio

St. Lucia. If you aren’t already familiar with them, let me get you caught up. There’s a good chance you’ve jammed out to their bright, high-energy hit singles, Elevate and Dancing on Glass. In their bio, lead singer, Jean-Phillip Grobler, explains that Dancing on Glass is “about having the faith to chase what makes you happy, even if logic and practicality tell you it’s bound to fall apart.” With over million listeners on Spotify, this electro-pop band knows how to get people in a feel good mood that keeps them coming back for more.

I discovered the band when Spotify featured St. Lucia in their “Ready For The Day” and “Morning Commute” playlists. I’m not a morning person, but on one brisk morning with caffeine in hand, I started boppin’ my head to “Elevate” as it flowed through speakers and into my life. I was hooked.

When I started listening to the rest of St. Lucia’s most recent album, Matter, I immediately thought to myself, “Am I in the ’80s or am I listening to the future of music?” In a recent interview, Grobler describes St. Lucia’s latest sound as “inspired by the RnB movement and ‘classics’ from the ’70s and ’80s.”

They even have a heart-pounding song called Physical. I’m sure Olivia Newton John is proud!

physical

During their shows, neon lighting illuminates the crowd as bright synths and vigorous beats move the room into a sweaty, but happy, dance party.

sl-dance

If any part of your being is connected to young Kevin Bacon’s warehouse power dance moves, then you belong at this show.
kb-dance

Oh and one other thing. Arrive on time because Baio is opening. This is NOT a drill people. If you’re not familiar, make yourself familiar:

 

Let’s be rebels and party on a week night. See you tonight!

This post was written by Rebekah Northern, contributing writer for the Blue Note and Rose Blog.

Author: RebekahNorthern

Nerd @Mizzou 🐯 || Intern @The_Blue_Note 🎶 || Twitter @RebekahNorthern

Leave a Reply

